The navigation header is hidden in edit mode.

Y.O.U. Adds 5 Stellar Individuals to Board of Directors

Published: October 28, 2022

After a busy spring for its Nominating Committee, Y.O.U.’s Board of Directors voted to elect 5 new members to 3-year terms at the beginning of its fiscal year in July. These new members will be critical advocates and leaders for the expanding mission of Y.O.U and have deep roots in the Evanston community and beyond.

Greg Calloway - Greg and his wife have lived in Evanston since 1982 and raised their children here. He joins the board ready to “serve the kids.” His children attended District 65 and District 202 schools and Greg supported them as a volunteer coach and PTA member. Greg is retired after a 28 year career with the American Library Association, most recently serving as Associate Executive Director of Finance. Greg also supports ALA's Spectrum Scholarship, which aims to diversify the field of library and information sciences to represent our racially and culturally diverse society.

Diana Sheehan - Raised in South Texas, Diana has lived in Evanston for nearly 20 years. Her children currently attend Walker, Chute, and ETHS. As a first generation college student who had critical relationships with mentors, she is always looking for ways to pay it forward. Her community service has included Instituto del Progreso Latino in Pilsen and Foundation 65 here in Evanston. Diana has spent her career in research, marketing, and sales. She currently serves as Group Vice President of Growth & Strategy with InContext.

Marcos Alcaine-Soto is a 3rd grade dual language teacher at Washington Elementary in Evanston. Hailing from Spain, Marcos has taught in the area since 2005, including 9 years here in Evanston. He holds multiple Master's degrees and has supported Latinx families and equity efforts in Evanston/Skokie School District 65 through work with SEED (and SEED en español), LGBTQ+ Equity Week, Gender and Sexuality Educators Alliance, and Hispanic Families Association at Washington.

Allie Payne - Allie Payne is a lifetime Evanston resident, moving here with her family when she was 5 to attend the new King Lab magnet school. Allie raised her three children in Evanston and is deeply engaged in the community. Her service includes Curt's Cafe, Reba Place Development Corporation, and Connections for the Homeless. She has also volunteered for District 65, ETHS, and ESCA (Evanston School Children's Clothing Alliance). Allie has been a Realtor in the area for 22 years (currently with Compass Evanston). She holds a degree from Temple University.

Nancy Johnson - Nancy first learned of Y.O.U. through her volunteer service with Kenilworth Union Church. Nancy is a lifelong member and serves as liaison for the church’s annual grant support to Y.O.U. She is currently the President and owner of J.M. Wright Company (a supplier of USAID decals and labels) and brings a strong background in client services and banking, including 20 years at USB and starting her career as a Commercial Bank Examiner for Chicago Reserve Bank. Nancy holds an MBA from Northwestern’s Kellogg School of Management.

New Directors are elected annually by the Board of Directors after completing a nominating process chaired by David Hill. Y.O.U.’s Board of Directors is comprised of a diverse group of 22-24 individuals committed to supporting youth success in Evanston and Skokie. Board members bring backgrounds in nonprofit management, finance, law, education, human resources, and marketing/communications among other areas. Every board member demonstrates a strong commitment to Y.O.U.’s mission.